Revision Tips

Hi guys! Though the summer term brings forth the end of the academic year and the summer holidays, it also(unfortunately) means exam season for students. GCSEs, SATs, other SATs, or even just end of year exams- we’ll all sure have a lot of revision to do. For example, I am meant to be revising for a science test at the minute, but I just keep getting distracted,so I ended up writing this instead. Anyways, let’s get straight into it.

1) Know how you learn: Revision is a very personal thing, so not all these tips or even ones teachers give you may be helpful. When you are revising, make sure you know what works for you and what’s the best way for you to learn; flashcards, repetion, writing it out- whatever works.

2) Know what you need to learn: Most teachers will give you a syllabus telling you what will come up on your tests. Print a copy of this out or keep it with your notes so you don’t have any nasty surprises when you open up that paper.

3) Leave yourself a time- cushion: This is really, really obvious, but don’t cram your revision in the night before! Most schools have 1-2 weeks where all the exams are done in the classes, so chances are that you will be doing multiple exams every day for 10 days.  This can be overwhelming, even for the ‘perfect’ student, so make sure you spread out your revision so you don’t end up  conjugating French verbs whilst learning how to solve quadratic equations at 2 in the morning!

4) Timetable: This doesn’t work for everyone. I consider myself a pretty organised person, but every time I have tried to timetable my work schedule, I have always miserably failed and de- motivated myself somehow. One of my close friends on the other hand timetables her whole revision schedule a couple of weeks beforehand, and this always works wonderfully for her. I suggest you try this out for yourself, but here’s what I recommend: if you’re a fairly busy person, this won’t work for you; if your timings are more flexible, this is the path to success.

5): Have last-minute notes: This is NOT an excuse for you to put-off revising. Last minute notes should be bullet points or quick keywords that help jog your memory ( stuff that covers the key points and stuff you are likely to forget; for eg: formulas).  I find them useful just before you enter the exam, or even the night before. At this point, you should know all the material for the test; don’t introduce new concepts just before a test and expect to do well on it. You’ll already be panicking, so your brain won’t really absorb anything- this is why you revise beforehand, so even if your common sense fails you, your memory and hard work from before will come and save the day. 

6) Get a good night’s sleep: Have a early night in, so you’re refreshed and good to go in the morning. 

7) Keep calm: Your instinct will be to panic; just take a few deep breaths and collect yourself. Remember, at the end of the day, it’s just a test. As Edison famously said, ‘ Tomorrow is my exam but I don’t care because a single piece of paper cannot decide my future.’

And that’s all. Just revise hard, and you’ll be fine! Good luck for your exams!!

P.S- The tips above don’t include really obvious stuff like ‘ don’t use your phone’. If you are smart enough to read this, I am sure you don’t need me to tell you those obvious ones!

30 thoughts on “Revision Tips

  1. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey! I’m sorry but I can’t really help you with your problem however you many want to ask over at PinkforDays or Dontgiveajam as I think they use the plugin you are talking about. Hope this helps:)

      Like

  2. I’m no longer certain where you’re getting your information, however great topic. I must spend a while studying much more or figuring out more. Thanks for magnificent information I used to be on the lookout for this info for my mission.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your wonderful post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi I am so grateful I found your site, I really found you by accident, while I was researching on Digg for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a fantastic post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the superb jo.|

    Like

  5. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you few interesting things or tips. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article. I want to read more things about it!

    Like

  6. I’m now not sure the place you are getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend a while finding out more or understanding more. Thank you for excellent information I was on the lookout for this info for my mission.

    Like

  7. The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iphone and tested to see if it can survive a 40 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is totally off topic but I had to share it with someone!

    Like

  8. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?

    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is fantastic,
    as well as the content!

    Like

  9. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as
    I provide credit and sources back to your website? My blog site is
    in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would truly benefit from a lot of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this alright with you. Thanks!

    Like

  10. always i used to read smaller articles that as well clear
    their motive, and that is also happening with this post which I am reading at this place.

    Like

  11. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me
    to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Superb work!

    Like

  12. naturally like your web site however you need to test the spelling on several of your posts.
    Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding it very bothersome to inform the reality however I’ll surely come again again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

