Food Blog- Swiss Roll

Hi guys! It’s already the 3rd of February and yet this is my first blog of the year! And there I was, aspiring about weekly blogs. Ah well, I guess part of making a new year’s resolution is giving up on it the second you wake up on the 1st Jan, after last night’s amazing party where you were probably really hyper and made all sorts of ridiculous promises you weren’t going to keep. Gym? Pfftt, no way! I’ll have that tub of ice- cream, though. I love myself and my body, and yes, I am on a Beyonce marathon, but no, it’s not her empowering, inspiring music that’s making me say this. (Yeah,right!)

No, but all jokes aside, I am going to keep one resolution I made(shock,horror,die), and that is starting a small set of blogs based on something DIYish. And for once, the fates aren’t conspiring against me! As a matter of fact, they must be very pleased with me as I recently started Food Tech. in my design lessons, which gave me inspiration to do some food blogs and capture the best recipes together, all for you guys to try. So after that lengthy intro, here it goes:

Swiss Roll: Recipe for 8/9 slices

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 75g caster sugar
  • 75g self-raising flour
  • 1/2tsp vanilla essence/ cocoa powder (optional)
  • Caster/Icing sugar 
  • 4tbsp jam/nutella etc + fresh fruit(optional)+ whipped cream(optional)+ chocolate sauce(optional)

Recipe:

  1. Turn the oven on and pre-heat to 200 degrees/ gas mark 6. Line your baking tray with baking paper. Apply grease onto the tray and cut into the four corners so the paper can lie as flat as possible.
  2. Into a large mixing bowl, add eggs and caster sugar. Whisk for about 10 mins till the mixture goes a light yellow in colour and bubbly and frothy in texture.
  3. Sieve in the flour and fold in.At this point, you can add in the vanilla essence/ cocoa powder. Tip: I was taught to be really gentle when folding it in so you don’t lose the air bubbles in the mixtures. However, because of this, my flour didn’t mix in properly and my sponge was slightly ruined and more prone to cracking. So my advice is, yes be gentle, but if you can clearly see the flour hasn’t been mixed into the mix, don’t be afraid to use some power! 
  4. Pour your mixture into the lined and tray and tilt the tray to ensure the mix spreads out evenly. Don’t use a spoon/fork/finger to try and even out the mixture; just tilt the tray and let the magic happen.
  5. Bake until light,fluffy and springy to touch. This roughly takes about 10 mins. In the meantime, take another sheet of baking paper and sieve some caster/icing sugar over it. Have it ready so the sponge can go onto it straight away.
  6. Take sponge out of the oven and pop the tin straight onto the pre-prepared baking paper. Remove tin and peel off the layer of baking underneath the tin. Then, using the baking paper as a guideline, roll up your Swiss roll and leave it in its rolled form. Tip: Speed is essential in this as the sponge will only roll whilst still hot! Don’t be scared and just go for it!
  7. If you’re applying jam/nutella etc. then wait till the sponge is semi-cool before unrolling and layering on your filling. If you’re using cream, wait till very cool as otherwise the cream will melt away. Add some small chopped fruit onto of your fruit if you want.
  8.  Final decorations! Carefully move the roll onto a plate and then surround it with some whole strawberries / raspberries. Next, put some more whole fruit onto the top of the roll. To finish off, cut small thin strips of baking paper and lay on top of the roll; then sprinkle caster or icing sugar onto top to give  a professional look to your homemade delight! Or freestyle it, and forget the baking paper strips; just sprinkle your heart out! Also, don’t forget the chocolate sauce drizzle….
  9. Cut, serve and enjoy! 

And there we are! One delicious recipe delivered! Keep in mind, this is completely free to adaptation, and I would love to see what crazy twists you guys add to your Swiss Rolls. When you make one, don’t forget to comment a picture and a line to let me know how it went. Looking forward to seeing the pictures! 

9 thoughts on “Food Blog- Swiss Roll

  1. Fаntastic blog! Do ʏou have aany recommendations for aѕpіring writers?
    Ӏ’m hoiping to start my own website soоn buut I’ma little lost
    on everything. Would you advise strting with a free platform like WordPress or
    go fօr a paiⅾ option? There are so many choicеѕ out there that I’m totally
    confused .. Any recommendations? Bⅼess you!

    Like

  2. Ⴝimply desire to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clearnesѕ in your post is just cool and i could asѕume you’re aan expert on this subject.
    Fine with your permiѕѕion alllow me to grab yor ᎡSS feed too keesp up
    to datfe witһ forthcoming post. Ƭhankls a millіon and
    please keep up the gratifying work.

    Like

  3. Ꮤonderful items from you, man. I hаve understand y᧐ur stuff previouѕ to and you’re
    simply too great. I really like what you’ve acquirеԀ here, really like wһat you’re saying and the wɑy in which
    in which yoou ɑѕsert it. Уou make it entertaining and you still cɑre for t᧐ keep it smart.
    I can not wait to read muuch m᧐re from you. That is actually a tremendous web ѕite.

    Like

  4. Verү great рost. I just stumbled upon your
    weblog and wanted to mention that I’ve rеally loved brⲟwsing yolur weblog posts.
    After all I will be subscribing for your feed and I hope you write again vvery soon!

    Like

  5. Hello Therе. I discovered your weblog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and retᥙrn to resd extra of your useful information. Thanks for
    the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

    Like

  6. After I initially commented І seeem tߋo hаve
    clicked the -Notyify me wһen new comments аге аdded- checkbox ɑnd
    from nnow on wheneνeг a comment is added Ӏ get fouг
    emails wіth the exact same cⲟmment. Is there a way yoou can remove mme from tһat service?

    Thаnk yoᥙ!

    Like

  7. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.

    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

    Like

Leave a Reply

